Some app updates fail to install and force f-droid to close

Hello,
as stated in the topic, i started recently to have this problem.
Some app updates (torrent client, kiss launcher, odyssey) force F-droid to close and don’t install.
Another app recently added (paper launch) has the same behavior.
In addition, if i manually download the apk files when i try to access the download folder, file manager suddenly closes. I have to manually remove the apk files by connecting device to PC and using PC file manager.

I already reported this on the following thread Several apps caused bootloop on Cm 12.1 - #7 by surferjoe but since i don’t have CM and in my case it’s not a bootloop issue i preferred to open a new topic.
I have Android 5.0.2.

Thanks

Something is very wrong with your Android system. Try doing factory reset
and/or change ROM. Don’t forget to backup.

1 Like

Uhmmm… I’m not a developer, so i can’t argue, but frankly it’s hard in my opinion to believe that if 3 of the dozens of apps installed on my device don’t update, then there’s something wrong on the device…
Those 3 apps updated flawlessy until latest releases, could It Be possible that something changed in latest build process?

1 Like

Hello,
Here i am again with some useful information, courtesy of Odyssey music player developer.
There seems to be a bug with android build tools:

https://issuetracker.google.com/issues/64434571

He has then built the apk with build tools 27.0.1 and now It works.

Thanks

The problem is somewhat similar to the one in thread you are referring to. I have also experienced crashes when file manager (or a backup application) was trying to access the .apk. The fact that you were not able to install any of those apps is most likely saved you from the boot loop.