New F Droid Driver, lost and need directions

Hello,
I am New to F Droid after getting a new phone and looking for a way to use my calendar & contacts without google because i’m sick & tired of having google’s hands into every piece of tech I own except my toothbrush,

I got as far as downloading the F Droid and then trying to download some basic apps e.g. contacts, k9 mail, new browser; but when I click the Install button on any of them, it shows a loading bar saying: waiting to start download, and then it ends, and then shows a message: not installed.

I’m lost, don’t know how this all works, if it’s even safe, but am just searching for almost ANY other option except Big Tech Google.

A finger pointing right or left, or just anything helps.

BTW, the phone i am using is DuraForce Pro 2, Kyocera.
I’m working on getting a galaxy maybe next month.

1 Like

What Android version? Are you asked to give F-Droid permissions to install?

1 Like

Hello,
Great of you to reply.

I’m not sure.
When I go to ‘About Phone’ it says software version: 4.207VZ.
software info: 9

And it did when I installed the F Droid, but not when I try to download an app from F Droid like the ones in my first comment.

When you installed F-Droid it asked for the permission for that other app, browser or file manager.

It should ask FOR F-Droid this permission now.

1 Like

For example:

I just went to my F Droid app, clicked it.

It opens up that screen.

Then I go to where it says ‘categories’ at the bottom, clicked it.

It opens up that screen.

Then I scroll down to where it says ‘contacts’ in the ‘phone & SMS’ section, clicked it.

It opens up that screen and reads ‘simple contacts by Tibor Kaputa’ and right below it there is an ‘INSTALL’ button, so I click it.

It shows a ‘loading’ bar then followed by a ‘NOT INSTALLED’ message at the bottom.

By the way, now it won’t even show me any ‘categories’ or ‘latest’ or ‘updates’.