Secrets in metadata com.example.app.yaml file in the build process

My app (Flutter based) that I’m willing to publish in F-Droid uses secrets that are used at Runtime of the app

The secrets get generated at the build time (using secrets.json locally & environmental vars in Github Action) & used in runtime. So I need a way to pass these secrets as ENV variables or any other way at build time in F-Droid server

How do I pass these secrets at the build step?

APP Repo: GitHub - KRTirtho/spotube: 🎧 Open source Spotify client that doesn't require Premium nor uses Electron! Available for both desktop & mobile!
F-Droid Data: KR. Tirtho / Data · GitLab

You need to put them in the build metadata.

I’m very new at both f-droid & gitlab. Can you provide me with an example, please?

Something like metadata/org.tasks.yml · master · F-Droid / Data · GitLab?

What linsui meant actually: you can’t have secrets on F-Droid, everything needs to be in the open, in the source repo. Once there, they’re not secrets anymore… just “keys” or whatever you call them.

F-Droid does not sign up for any API keys. Even if provided by a third party, we include them in both, binary and sourcecode releases.

From Inclusion Policy | F-Droid - Free and Open Source Android App Repository

1 Like

ClientId or API Keys are fine to include as they’re intented to be seen by everyone. But my application also have to have ClientSecret too for its functionality & that is not something I can push to upstream. It can be a security risk for my users

Is there any way to store this kind of secret & pass it only in the build without letting know everyone?

If it’s in Client where does it come from? Not from “the client”? It’s not “generated by the app after install”?

Link to the app source code so we know what is this about pls

Sorry for the delay