Newbie needs help with "operation not permitted"

Hello all,

I’m very new to Termux and very much appreciate its capabilities!

Using Android 10 tablet I’ve installed both Termux and Termux:Tasker from Google Play to use with DroidScrips following their tutorial, however I quickly find out the the Turmex version from Google Play is limited compared to F-Droid’s, so I’ve uninstalled both Termux and the plugin and installed F-droid’s Termux APK and plugin instead; I’ve set Storage allowed under App permissions, and I’ve also executed:

termux-setup-storage

Following DroidScrips tutorial, executed:

mkdir -p .termux /sdcard/termux/scripts

However I get an error when trying to execute the next command:

ln -s /sdcard/termux/scripts .termux/tasker 
ln: failed to create symbolic link '.termux/tasker/scripts': operation not permitted

Thank you in advance!
Best,
Cortex

Maybe help is at Microsoft’s github, termux issues: Issues · termux/termux-app · GitHub

thanks for the link, i’m looking there as well.
Cheers

do you have root, or do you have write permissions in the folder where you want to place the link?
check if the folder doesn’t already exist and has different rights.
check the folders with ‘ls -l <folder_path>‘ to see the permissions, then post them here for further instructions.

@ecxod, thank you for reaching out!

I’m not rooted.

currently I have the following state:

from both DroidScript and Termux I can Read/Write to the same folder, from DroidScript the path is:

/storage/self/primary/test

and from Termux:

~/storage/shared/test

checking permission from Termux:

ls -ld ~/storage/shared/test
drwxrwx--- 2 root everybody 3488 Oct 31 09:42 /data/data/com. termux/files/home/storage/shared/test

Thx again!

I also question if that tutorial is official. This linked from official site doesn’t say anything about linking… Termux:Tasker - Termux Wiki

If in doubt use official comm channels. Community - Termux Wiki

sorry but not this folder I ment …