Imprint for Apps (and Websites)

Hi there,

I have a question, how do you deal with the fact that apps as well as homepages are subject to an imprint obligation (at least in Germany (TMG)).

I have published my first app on F-Droid and would like to create a website for it and have now stumbled upon the point that I would have to store an imprint on the website as well as in my app.
In general I have no problem with an imprint, but it bothers me that I have to give my full private address according to the TMG.

For this reason I would like to ask you how you handle this.

If this is the wrong place to discuss this, I apologize, I thought it would be right in this community.

2 Likes

Are you sure that you are required to provide an imprint? My understanding is that only persons who do something “geschäftsmäßig” need to provide an imprint. But I am not a lawyer, I don’t know what “geschäftsmäßig” means in practice.

1 Like

Link to the legislation?

Telemediengesetz
Staatsvertrag fĂĽr Rundfunk und Telemedien

The consumer portal provided by the Federal Ministry of Justice and Consumer Protection has a article about Imprints, with references to §5 Telemediengesetz and §55 Rundfunkstaatsvertrag.

Afaik Scrambled Exif provides a imprint on F-Droid.

Can you explain in english? I keep seeing you post in english but there no actual info just in english here :slight_smile:

Hi there

The point is that the reasons for not having an imprint are to have a private or for family (limited group of people) website (I think the same with apps). But if I create an app and publish it on f-droid, this is suitable for anyone who wants it. Afaik, I need an imprint and all other apps (published by Germans) need it too.

With the imprint itself I have no problem, but I want to protect my personal address. I have no company or something like that.

@Licaon_Kter I think it’s a German problem, but I don’t know the law in other countries.