How to develop for Android using only free software?

Hi, I’m curious to know your recommendations for what tools to use when creating Android apps, since Android Studio and the Android SDK are proprietary. Is there any way to improve this, for instance can I edit the code using Gedit and compile it somehow on the command line? I’m fairly new to Android development. Thanks!

2 Likes

Good questions actually. Android Studio and most parts of the android SDK should be free software. But finding any definitive statement is rather tricky.

There is this, though that’s not really conclusive: ide - Is it OK to use Android Studio for production? (License concern) - Stack Overflow

The sdk components we are using should all be under Apache-2.0 but I’d need to re-check that again to be absolutely sure.

In any case you don’t need android studio to develop android applications. What you need is the sdk-tools bundle and gradle.

then it’s calling ./gradlew assembleRelease and you get the same thing androdi studio does.

1 Like

Thank you! This is the answer I was hoping for.

I was on my phone when I wrote this, but I can elaborate a bit more now. It seems Android Studio is source available and based on the Apache-licensed IntelliJ IDEA Community Edition. Supposedly it too is Apache-licensed although I haven’t yet looked at the source tree of Android Studio because it’s kind of obfuscated, so I don’t know whether it includes a LICENSE file.

Anyway, when you go to download Android Studio a giant terms and conditions pops up:

I haven’t read it throughly, but this for instance jumps out at me:

3.2 You may not use this SDK to develop applications for other platforms (including non-compatible implementations of Android) or to develop another SDK. You are of course free to develop applications for other platforms, including non-compatible implementations of Android, provided that this SDK is not used for that purpose.