Developing a F-Droid app to talk to my Java Chatbot

People,

I have only just discovered F-Droid and I am very enthusiastic about the system and it just occurred to me that it might be the right environment for me to find someone to help me with developing an app to talk to my Chatbot running on my server. Currently it can be talked to via FB Messenger (testing the chatbot was the ONLY reason I set up the account!) but I want to get away from that eventually - preferably sooner rather than later:

I think an app should be relatively straight forward to develop but I have never built an Android app before so it would be good to find someone who knew what they were doing and who wanted to collaborate. At the moment Phi Rho is a general-purpose chatbot but I am going to start customising canned responses for him so he can act for me when I am not available when people want information about my non-profit organisations:

http://cryonics.org.au

and:

Eventually I would like to add some real AGI modules to Phi Rho so he would become a real Avatar - but that is a bit in the future . .

The chatbot code itself is closed-source (the guy I bought the licence from has long-since stopped responded to my emails) but the Android app would definitely be Open Source. In fact, it is probably worth another email to the author to see if he could be talked into letting me open source the chatbot itself. The chatbot is written in Java (which I know very little about) and I did look into trying to learn Kotlin so I might be able to start doing small changes / enhancements but I haven’t made much progress with that idea so far.

Anyway, I don’t know if it is appropriate netiquette to bring up this idea here - sorry if it isn’t . . but I thought the smart developers here might have some good comments / feedback on the idea.

Thanks,
Phil.

Hi, Phil.

That’s an interesting idea and may have really creative continuations.