Copy my contacts from my old phone

I am trying to copy my contacts from my old phone which I have open in windows explorer. i can’t access the phone itself the screen is broken. Where do I find contacts? They are not on the SIM or the external card which I have already placed in the new phone. I have no google or cloud accounts

I’m not an expert, but I think you did give too less information to your possible helpers.
Have you saved the contacts in window?
Which app have you used to save contacts in your phone?
Did you have an external SD-Card? Did you use it as default (for data exchange with other devices) or as a common memory with the phone RAM?
Do you remember, where you saved the contacts.
Pls. remark, if it may possible to restore the data an you have not saved the data in an external device or SD-Card, you have to use your phone in “blind mode”, cause broken screen.

I saved the contacts in my Xperia L4 when it worked. I can not get into it but have conected it to the computer where I can see the folders. Path is Computer\Xperia L4\Internal shared storage\Android\data\com.simplemobiletools.smsmessenger\files

I was using Simple Mobile Tools SMS app and it was the default app for sending text messages

Pls. remark, if it may possible to restore the data an you have not saved the data in an external device or SD-Card, you have to use your phone in “blind mode”, cause broken screen.

I do not have the messages on an external SD

Thanks

Edit 2: If your adb debugging or adb usb works fine, you can try and launch that activity via adb and hopefully it works.

Edit: If you can somehow call the intent/activity: com.android.providers.contacts.debug.ContactsDumpActivity, then it will start a dump of all you contacts and call logs to the internal Download folder. You can then someway extract from that file.

Now my previous answer.

The contacts database can be queried using the ADB shell:

adb shell content query --uri content://com.android.contacts/data