Checkupdate failed, couldn't find version information

Hey there. This is my first time creating an app for fdroid.
My app, v4lpt.vpt.pwg at GitHub - v4lpt/PWG: This is a simple password generator for the android operating system. passed all the tests of the pipeline, but failed at the checkupdates section. When I try to run checkupdates on my own machine: this is the error:

(fdroid) ai@computer:~/fdroid/fdroiddata$ fdroid checkupdates v4lpt.vpt.pwg
2024-01-05 10:54:36,610 ERROR: Build metadata git repo has uncommited changes!
(fdroid) ai@computer:~/fdroid/fdroiddata$ 

Then I followed this advice:

and I got a different error (it also took a lot longer):

I searched online and found this thread, in which the problem seems to be similar:

(fdroid) ai@computer:~/fdroid/fdroiddata$ fdroid checkupdates --allow-dirty v4lpt.vpt.pwg
2024-01-05 10:58:13,924 INFO: Processing v4lpt.vpt.pwg
2024-01-05 10:58:22,865 ERROR: ...checkupdate failed for v4lpt.vpt.pwg : Couldn't find any version information
(fdroid) ai@computer:~/fdroid/fdroiddata$ 

so I checked my repo, and added a changelogs folder and a file 10.txt with some basic text in it.

I called fdroid rewritemeta v4lpt.vpt.pwg, then checked the metadata file. I was shocked to see that the commithash didnā€™t change, so I manually updated it. Then I tried to run fdroid checkupdates --allow-dirty v4lpt.vpt.pwg again. I waited with anticipation, only to be greeted with the same error.

I also checked my build.gradle.kts file and my android manifest - in all of them the version information is present and consistent with each other. I looked through more forum posts, and eventually stumbled upon this thread:

Immidietly I opened a terminal and ran the command, and got a verbose output:
2024-01-05 11:05:50,655 DEBUG: Parsing manifest at ā€˜build/v4lpt.vpt.pwg/build.gradle.ktsā€™
2024-01-05 11:05:50,655 DEBUG: ā€¦got package=None, version=None, vercode=None