Anyone interested in redesigning the app?

Hello everyone! I’m a recent UI/UX Design graduate and I’m looking to apply my new skills on existing products/experiences. The F-Droid app caught my interest as I find it has a lot of potential to draw future users but might need a bit of organization and improved UX.

1. Would anybody be interested in me uploading some redesign concepts?
  2. Are there any heavy users of F-droid open to me interviewing them to understand user needs/pain points?

Here is my portfolio for those curious about what I can do. https://www.cherlyfernandez.com/

4 Likes

You have mockups already?

What are your pain points with its UI/UX at the moment?

I dont know if I m right with that here but an button tu update and install all your apps at the same time would be a nice feature

3 Likes

@Uncles4m I Think that’s what Privileged Extention does, but you would need root for that to install. So for the non-techies out there a button would be +1

I would be happy to discuss Cheryl, but I am more of a User, if that is good for you?
Btw, your mailto: in your webpage is missing the email ID. :wink:

3 Likes

I a plan to identify what those pain points are from users, then build a solution/mockup based on data. I want to be able to backup my design decisions based on actual user needs. This app was actually suggested to me by a dev engineer who uses the app but thinks it can be improved. I just need to see if there is enough need for it before working on it. I would probably need to interview 3-5 heavy users to get started.

1 Like

There are some (a lot) issues tagged with “ui”

I don’t know if that can be a source for ideas what areas to improve or if it is too much and confusing.

There is also a FDroid classic client which was forked before a major redesign. Maybe its a good idea to compare and analyze why some users prefer the previous design over the newer one and vice versa.