Default SMS application

I only use Simple SMS Messenger, but it needs to be set as the default application every time I start the phone. Why is this default setting lost whenever the phone is turned off? In the phone Settings I have allowed Simple SMS Messenger and disallowed the Google Play Store. Is there another setting I need to activate? I am still new to smart phones so possibly I have missed something.

What phone/operating system do you use, Cliff?

Android 11 running on a King Kong Mini2 Pro. (Yes, I know it’s a silly name but the size is ideal for me.)

Android Settings, Apps, Default Apps, Messages, select the app?

Thanks. I did not know of that setting as I am still finding my way around the phone. Having now set SMS Messenger as the default in the Android Settings as you described, then restarted the phone, I am still asked to set it as default when I open the app.

I use other Simple Mobile apps on the phone without being asked repeatedly to set them as default so maybe it is inherent in that particular app.

This can happen due to Lawnchair or some 3rd party launcher issues too, for some weird reason. I faced it few times, but after 2 or 3 times, it works as should.

Hmm, I did not realise apps could alter default settings in Android. I have not changed the launcher so I guess I must tolerate this minor inconvenience.

They can’t but they can ask you to do it.

Launchers are special as OEMs are afraid you’d install a bad one and be unable to use the device so I’ve seen them aggressively replace yours with the default one.

So can you suggest a way to track down the offending application that is interfering, or do I have to remove each app one at a time until the default setting works?

Maybe you can try to disable the defaault SMS app?

Find it’s appid first…